The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, children ’s participation in sports at school is widely advocated and encouraged, as it is considered the most effective way for children to learn cooperation at an early age. However, I would argue that the value of sports activity in terms of facilitating collaboration is overestimated, and the adverse outcome may well appear. It is recognized that children are naturally inclined to compete, and games are usually made to include a competitive factor. Sports, obviously and unfortunately, are competitive by nature: only one win and the rest lose. It adds to children ’s stress by pressuring them to be outstanding within the team and win over the other side and undermines the accessibility of cooperative thoughts and behaviours. Especially in the current social context, winning has been widely accepted and allowed to become a prominent part of the mainstream. As is often the case in sports, parents or coaches or even the audience on the sidelines cannot help shouting to urge children to win and compete rather than cooperate. Therefore, simply counting on sports to cultivate a sense of cooperation and collaboration seems to be far from satisfactory. Instead, more attention needs to be drawn to create an environment that inspires collaboration and a joyful experience. Children learn character mainly through imitation. They listen, observe and learn skills by watching the words and behaviours of parents, teachers and peers. Family and school projects could be devised to include everyone and make everyone feel needed. Parents and teachers could guide the children to recognize that everyone has something valuable to offer in a group, and show appreciation for their contributions. By deliberately practicing these skills and recreating such an atmosphere, we manage to teach children behaviours that will ultimately benefit themselves. In conclusion, sports activities can be a platform for a negative type of competitiveness and sometimes exacerbate it. It is more effective to turn every day into boundless opportunities to emphasize the importance of cooperation and fuel children to exercise and practice the art of cooperation.