Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

Crime is unquestionably one of the most prevalent and worrying issues in any society. Of course, it is crucial to punish offenders in order to prevent other crimes, however, people vary in their opinion on how to deal with this problem in the right way.  On the one hand, a number of people believe that there are some advantages of having an equal system for every offence. Likewise, if small crimes are rated as big ones, humans would definitely think twice before stilling or destroying someone's privacy. Without a doubt, this decision could work as a deterrent to would-be offenders due to the fact that nobody wants to spend their whole life in prison or pay extremely big money as a fine. On the other hand, other individuals consider this type of solving a problem to be inappropriate and unfair for every individual. To begin with, human life is far more important than some physical things such as phones, cars or money, therefore killing a person could not be punished in the same way as other offences. Furthermore, each crime has a different reason and brings different consequences, consequently, people could not be judged merely by following some rules in the justice system. To conclude, the advantages of having fixed punishments are appreciated by some individuals due to the fact that they could force criminals to change their decision before committing a crime, however, other people reckon that having fixed punishments for all offences would bring a lot of disadvantages, therefore this option could not be suitable for every case.