Many people believe there should be a curfew law so that people under the age of 18 are not out past midnight. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

I completely agree that there should be a strict lockdown for kids who are under 18 years old past 12am. The reason I completely agree with this is firstly because it is not safe for youngsters to be out past midnight and secondly because staying awake past midnight leads to health issues in young teens. As we are all aware the crime rate in any given location is more during the night, therefore we do not want our young ones to be hanging out at night since it puts their life in danger. Speaking out of personal experience, I have been a victim of several crime scenes, and all of them took place after midnight while I was getting back home from group studies during senior high school, where I was robbed of my belongings with a knife to my throat. So, it is an excellent idea to keep the younger ones at home late at night. Along with the safety factor, it is also not good to be awake past midnight because this trend goes against the natural biological clock of humans. Teenage is the phase in which drastic physical and mental developments occur in human lives, and these changes are good only with good sleep or they end up the other way around having everlasting effects on young teenagers. For example, one of my school friends was under the negative influence of regularly staying out past 12am with his other friends because of which his height has remained the same since high school. In order to ensure your child is healthy you better put him to sleep early. In conclusion, young teens are not capable of making the right decisions in the dark which will result in them being at the receiving end of unfortunate events, moreover, kids are easy targets for criminals as they cannot defend themselves. On the other hand, allowing the kids to hang around late at night instead of sleeping can be hazardous to their development phase. Therefore, it is better to stay at home and impose such restrictions like curfews past midnight.