In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Whilst young individuals in several countries should be recommended to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and commencing university, from my standpoint, this advice is not suitable for young individuals for two crucial reasons. On the one hand, this advice is beneficial for young people because the university environment calls for experience and open-mind. Unless people work or travel, they do not gain experience and knowledge about life. This deficiency begets some problems such that they always think life is easy since money would be given by their parents. As a consequence of this, they do not pay attention to their lessons or hard skills. For example, if they work somewhere, they can probably understand important lessons or skills. Moreover, if they reach open-mind about life, they can choose the correct career path for their jobs. This is an important choice because they can succeed in their dreams by using only this way. On the other hand, I do not agree with this view because education is a marathon; therefore, if a person gives up or leaves this field, she/he cannot come back again because in today's world money is equal to independence. Reaching independence gives rise to some things that life is easy, or money always can find effortlessly. For this reason, they may lose their ideal and goal of life. The second reason why is to change. The chance is so fast in recent years. Many things such as economic or educational have a great effect on young people. With this chance, this effect causes some perils such that they do not come back to university inasmuch as they can have some obligation due to the aforementioned effects and changes. To conclude, it can obviously be said that one year is very important, especially, in today's world. A year gap has some beneficial but has some drawbacks.