In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

Nowadays, the population in most parts of the globe is ageing. People are living longer, and birth rates are decreasing drastically. In this essay, the advantages and disadvantages will be discussed, and I will conclude by saying whether the benefits and drawbacks are of greater importance. Regarding the drawbacks of an ageing society, the need for medical support will rise rapidly. Given that older people may experience some ageing-related diseases such as high blood pressure or diabetes, the increased population may put more pressure on medical facilities. Another disadvantage is that the competition in job markets may become fiercer. If the retirement age is extended, the younger generation will find it difficult to access jobs because it will take more time for old members to retire. As a result, business may be less dynamic and transform slower. As for the positive aspects, it has been pointed out that older adults have much to contribute with their wisdom, experiences, and skills. Those who are still active and productive in the workplace can be assets to the economy and society. Moreover, retired elderly that are more comfortable financially are often willing to give back to their communities and support their families. Their contribution may range from government projects, charitable work to babysitting their grandchildren. In conclusion, although there are solid arguments both against and in favour of an ageing population, I believe the drawbacks are more important than the benefits. This is because the constant lack of a healthy and more productive labour force might lead to an economic downturn. More worryingly, we may face a dilemma where no younger generations sustain the elderly in the future.