Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Arguments appear between people who believe that learning a foreign language is only for travelling or working abroad purposes, whereas, others believe there are many reasons for studying a foreign language. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, a number of people believe there are many reasons for learning a foreign language which is beneficial to the individuals. Firstly, people can easily adapt to the environment by learning from a foreign country, especially in the globalization era. Secondly, it can be beneficial for looking some local jobs because, nowadays, foreign language skills are highly considered for candidates in the local job industry. For example, I experienced a better possibility of acceptance in looking for local jobs in my country after graduating, compared with my other friends who have fewer skills in foreign languages. On the other hand, some folks appear to argue that travelling and working abroad can be the only reasons for people to study a foreign language. It is understandable that both indicators are vital reasons for someone to learn a foreign language. However, I don’t find this argument convincing because, nowadays, the ability to have a knowledge of a foreign language is considered a basic skill of modern people to easily adapt to globalization. To conclude, in my view, there are sensible reasons why we should learn a language. Moreover, in a world of communications, it would be very illogical to see only a few reasons for learning a language.