In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Kids are usually encouraged to strive to achieve what they dream of in some countries. I believe that there are advantages and disadvantages. First things first, children under circumstances like this are far more confident, therefore they possess more bravery to get over those obstacles on their way to success. According to a survey conducted by Peking University, which did some research on both confident students and less confident ones, found that the confident ones were courageous enough to challenge everything before considering how hard would it be. In contrast, the other side seems to think too much when confronted with some barriers. As a result, those students with bravery are more likely to succeed for they fight for every opportunity to make an attempt and win rather than think about the outcomes if they fail in the end. Secondly, encouraging them contributes to stimulating their talents, hence helping them to make improvements. There is no denying that most of us have no idea of what we are capable of in the very beginning, and because of those words from our parents or teachers, we have the chance to discover our potential in what we are interested in. For instance, Draymond Green from Golden State Warriors is the perfect example. After he was encouraged by the coach, he decided to be the centre of the team and found that he actually excelled in that position. And he couldn't have done that without the coach's encouragement. Accordingly, those words are of great significance to people who are working for their goals. However, it might lead to the chase for the impossible, which in the end affects kids ' mental health. To make dreams come true, it takes more than just diligence, such as luck and the resources that are essential to those dreams. And if individuals can't make it work after tons of effort, they will possibly fall into desperation and suffer from depression. As a consequence, the lead to inappropriate targets destroys kids mentally. In conclusion, telling kids that they can realize their dreams after hard work provides them with confidence and their talents found. However, it also has some negative effects on their mental health.