Some people think all lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while others think there are better alternatives for those whose crimes are minor, such as making them do work for the local community. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since people feel vulnerable after being assailed, some individuals tend to advocate in favour of taking criminals to jail, which is an understandable situation. However, others believe that there are different alternatives to make lawbreakers pay for their crimes. In this essay, both points of view will be discussed and I will give my opinion concerning the topic. Crime rates in big cities are always a problem faced by the population. Robbery, violence, and theft are some of the social ills, which take our sense of security and welfare away. Considering this, the government has an important role in creating measures to provide public security, such as taking offenders under police force custody. It is a way to show to the society that criminal behaviour is not accepted. Besides that, taking offenders to prison is part of an attempt by the State to educate them to not come back to criminal life anymore. However, it is important to be aware of the level of the committed crime. In other words, not every wrongdoing has to be tackled the same way. Heinous crime, rape and murder, for instance, has to be discouraged with strictness and the offender deserves deprivation of liberty as a punishment. In addition, recidivism has to be considered. If this person insists on being an out-of-law, socialization is something unattainable. On the other hand, mild offenders, going to the same environment as a murderer, for example, have no choice but to come back from prison better than when they went before. Thus, it is important to give milder punishment to people who do not pose a danger to society. A good way to make them pay for their crimes is by making them work for local communities. Painting walls or cutting the grass are tools which can involve them in activities away from criminality. To conclude, I agree with the incarceration of dangerous criminals who have no chance to be socialized and mild measures for people who committed wrongdoing without putting others in harmful plight.