Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

The environment is badly affected by the disposal of plastic bags, bottles and packaging. This essay will discuss the detrimental effect that plastic has on the environment and how this issue can be solved by the authorities and people individually. Plastics damage the surroundings in many ways. One of them is that they cause water pollution. For example, it is often seen that whenever children visit lakes on a school trip, they throw plastic waste in the water, causing a layer of plastic to form on the surface of the water. Consequently, this affects marine life and leads to a shortage of oxygen. Thus, many species die since their oxygen supply is cut off. This leads to disruption in the ecosystem since marine life has a major impact on the ecosystem. In light of this crisis, governments should put forward new policies and implement putting various signs near the lakes to stop people from throwing plastics in the water and installing garbage bins. In the case of individuals, they should stop using materials made of plastic and replace them with other recyclable materials such as paper or cloth. Collectively both these measures are crucial for environmental sustainability and to decrease water pollution. Thereby, protecting and saving water bodies. In conclusion, the water pollution that is damaging the environment can be reduced if governments place numerous signboards promoting the use of dustbins instead of littering the lakes. Similarly, people can play a major role by using biodegradable materials instead of plastics.