Some people believe that unpaid community activity service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hold the opinion that participating in community service, including charitable activities or educating younger children, without receiving any wage should be a mandatory program in upper secondary education. I partially agree with this idea since, on the one side, compulsion can serve as a forcing factor that leads students towards being engaged in activities benefiting their community. However, on the other side, coercing students into doing unpaid community service may foster a sense of resentment in them. On the one hand, some advocate the idea of making unpaid community service a compulsory program for high school students. They argue that some individuals do not participate in activities which do not have direct benefits for them, for example, from a financial aspect, unless they are forced into doing them. In other words, they believe compulsion is a necessary element that leads students towards benefiting their society by participating in community service, even if they are reluctant to do so. They think that whether students ' reasons for refusing to perform unpaid community service are justifiable, such as time constraints, or unjustifiable, such as idleness or feeling irresponsible towards the community, they need to be under pressure from the school to fulfil their fair share of civic duties towards their community. On the other hand, others oppose the opinion that high school students ' engagement in community service should be mandatory. They believe when students, especially adolescents, are coerced into taking part in unpaid activities to serve their community, they may feel that they are subjected to unfair demands, leading them to feel reluctance or even resentment toward these activities in the long term. Moreover, students are more likely to make their best efforts in performing community service or activities in the interest of society if they are allowed to do them out of their own desire or free will instead of compulsion. Thus, by forcing them to participate in benevolent activities for society or community service, students may render service superficially with the least acceptable quality. In conclusion, to some extent, I do agree with the idea suggesting that high school students should be compelled to participate in community service activities since compulsion can serve as a factor that increases students ' engagement in activities benefiting their society, even if some of them are not willing to do so. However, coercing students to perform benevolent activities for the public may create a sense of resentment in them, and they may not put their best efforts into doing community service if it is against their desire or will.