Nowadays, animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

With a conflicting view about whether animal experiments should be prohibited, advocates argue that human beings can make good use of these creatures to gain some benefit for themselves, while opponents believe that the suffering caused needs to be stopped, thus conforming to a reasonable moral standard. Personally, I think animal testing aimed at scientific discoveries should be allowed until they are replaced by alternatives. On the one hand, it is immoral to treat animals as test targets in medical discoveries, because it brings torture and pain for the little creatures, as well as kills many innocent animals every year. First of all, all creatures on the planet are equal and should be immune to suffering from illnesses imposed by humans regardless of any aims. Even if there are some improvements in discovering medicines, such a sacrifice would presumably not be justified by a minor gain compared with the suffering experienced by animals. Secondly, the practice is considered a selfish act at the expense of innocent lives and the suffering of animals. On the other hand, scientists make an effort to figure out the most feasible and credible result by trial and error in these tests, which cannot only lower the risk of patients from using newly-developed medicines, but save time and effort without considering the severe consequences involved humans. For one thing, there is no other effective method to testify the effect of a drug used for humans before proving it on samples such as white mice, monkeys and so on. For another, if they are not allowed to involve in scientific research, more innocent people acting as guinea pigs will fall victim to failed experiments, which is more immoral than animal testing. In conclusion, it seems to me that it is worth sacrificing some animals for scientific research, although we should make an effort to reduce our dependence on them and explore substitutes.