More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Numerous people nowadays are more interested in getting news from the Internet instead of newspaper or TV programs. In my opinion, with reasonable supervision, the benefits of using the internet as a way to obtain news can outweigh the drawbacks so this could be a positive development. On the one hand, compared with newspaper and TV programs, it is more convenient for the public to get information through the Internet. It seems impossible to watch TV everywhere outside the room and without the big screens or to read various newspapers during commuting or in a dark environment, but people can easily check their cell phones for any information they want on the internet. For instance, commuters can read news with their portable smart devices when they are waiting for the buses or in the cafe during their breakfast time instead of carrying too much paper. Therefore, every reader’s time and energy could be saved and more comprehensive views of current situations and the world could be obtained via this more effective and efficient development. On the other hand, some existing negative factors and potential risks should also be paid timely attention to. First of all, the fake news introduced on the internet should be denied and ignored. With more freedom to publish and share personal views and experiences online, more untested or even fake statements would be increasingly exposed to the public. An example of this is that many retailers post unreal advertisements for attracting more consumers to buy their goods which are not with matched quality. Furthermore, frauds may obtain more illegal profits or achieve their purposes by such approaches, which is one of the severe horrible potential consequences if relevant regulations and limitations are not introduced. In conclusion, although information spread by the internet could be misleading and risky in some specific situations, with suitable and sufficient supervision, it can still benefit more people as a positive media platform.