Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Travelling and migration are two primary reasons for many to learn a foreign language. However, the advantages of learning a second language are multifaceted and are not restrained by the need to communicate with people who use this language. I personally believe that the reason so many people are interested in a second language is diverse. Adults often enrol in a language course or invest time to enhance their language skills as they understand how crucial it is to be able to communicate with native people when they travel to a different country. Communication skills often determine their professional success or enjoyable holidays in a country far away from home. Similarly, proficiency in a language is often a criterion for immigration. For instance, anyone seeking to migrate to Canada needs to prove his/her English, and sometimes French, proficiency. Thus many people learn the language solely for professional and immigration requirements. Nevertheless, there are many other reasons for people around the world to learn a second language. For children, a foreign language is an academic subject and they need the skill, specifically in English, to be able to continue their education while tertiary-level education is dominated by the English language in many countries. Furthermore, skill in a foreign language is helpful for better cognitive development and it is backed by scientific research. Finally, people, in this age of technology, learn a different language to make friends beyond the border of their country and read books written in other languages. It also helps their ability to understand the diversity of cultures and traditions. To conclude, travel and immigration might be the reasons for learning a new language to many, but the importance of learning a foreign language goes beyond these two objectives.