Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays spending a lot of time on smartphones is a common trend for some minors. The cause of this phenomenon can be that there is a cathing content that pupils enjoy watching. I assume that at the same time, children rely on them too much and it might have negative consequences for them. First of all, modern phones are very useful nowadays and people can find plenty of convenient information there. So that's why children use them daily. For example, Smartphones can help students with their studies and improve someone's knowledge they are so handy for one's who study in school. In addition to this, kids like spending hours surfing the Internet or binge-watch series on different entertainment platforms. Such things are very appealing to the young generation. As a result, minors spend a significant amount of time using their personal smartphones. I think, Spending a lot of time on phones might lead to problems with academic performance among students. For instance, children tend to rely on different apps that they find extremely helpful with their homework. By using them, children have the potential to start forgetting how to write grammatically correct and solve mathematical problems by themselves. Such actions can lead to bad performances during tests and final exams. So, pupils might stay for a second year at school and can be even expelled. In conclusion, smartphones are considered to be helpful and there are a lot of interesting things that foster interest in children. However, relying on them too much can impact badly on students' outcomes and overall performances at school.