The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. The way people interact today is changed by the internet such as Facebook and Instagram. Some people believe that the internet brings some benefits, while others argue it has several negative effects on people's lives. This essay will discuss both the beneficial effects of the internet and the potential drawbacks. One commonly cited advantage of communicating through the internet is making wider friendships. This is because social media enables individuals to be connected to others even though they are in far-off areas. It means that people can not only meet people quicker, but they also can create bunds of friendship as many as they want. Another positive effect is that the Internet is able to create more business opportunities for citizens. People can take advantage of the internet to broaden their own businesses globally since all countries’ citizens are connected longitudinally. As an illustration, many local companies in Indonesia promote their products on Instagram which is accessed by young people. As a result, those corporations make an increasing amount of income. Despite this, it is widely argued that the main serious problem of interacting via social media is reducing face-to-face communication in society. This is because of the accessibility of social media in leading people to keep in touch online instead of communicating in person. Therefore, while people can build wider friendships simply, they probably will not have speaking skills because of the communication. In conclusion, the internet is likely to decrease in-person conversation, while I strongly believe that it brings several benefits in connecting people and opening more business opportunities.