The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to solve this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to health issues resulting from a growing overweight population cause for the healthcare system, some people consider that the most effective solution is to increase sport and exercise in schools. I agree that this is one of the best ways to tackle the health hazards related to overweight and obesity, along with creating awareness of a healthy diet. Firstly, dealing with problems related to weight can be best solved by taking a long-term approach and introducing regular physical exercise in school routines. This method will ensure that the young would be less prone to most kinds of health risks and will not have such problems. For instance, countries which mandate more sports and extracurriculars in schools have a healthy young population and it is exemplified by the number of medals won in international competitions. However, there are not enough extracurriculars in most school curriculums around the world to ensure a healthy student life. Hence by incorporating more time for physical education, children can grow up fitter and more active. Moreover, everyone cannot afford enough time for physical activity, especially in the case of working adults with desk jobs. By eating a nutrient-rich diet and avoiding food that contains a lot of calories, it is possible to avoid obesity and its associated complications. Also, individuals can stay fit by staying away from junk food and processed drinks, for instance, carbonated beverages which usually are full of sugars result in weight increase when consumed frequently, even in small amounts. In Conclusion, to deal with the increasing population of unfit and overweight people, changing the lifestyle of the next generations by including more sports and teaching the ways of recommended dietary practices are effective solutions to use.