Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

It has been argued that supermarkets should merely sell domestic food ingredients rather than those from overseas. I completely agree with this statement based on two reasons, one of which is that overseas’ food will accompany bacteria which will lead to certain illnesses, and the second is food in their own country can control the general price. Firstly, selling food production within their own country has a high quality to prevent the other nation’s bacteria. Countries cannot control other nations' farming methods, so there is a high opportunity to accompany diseases with food from other countries. For example, a few years ago, beef from America carried a kind of bacteria which will cause certain sicknesses after individuals ate them, therefore only selling domestic food products is an optimum avenue to prevent this situation. Secondly, high-quality price management can be done by purchasing food from their own nation. This is because importing food into the country has to pass through transit, packaging, and other sophisticated processes, which certainly increase the price. This situation can be evidenced in Taiwan where northern and southern Taiwan have a huge range of food prices. Specifically, most of the restaurants in northern Taiwan use food from other nations which increases the price, on the other hand, southern Taiwan’s restaurants sell domestic food which is much cheaper in cost. In conclusion, I believe that supermarkets should only sell domestic food because this management can ensure the food quality and decrease the average cost of food. Supermarkets should be a trustable place to purchase food, even though there is no multiple choice in the food source.