It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Small businesses are struggling to survive against the megamarkets and chain franchises and the domination of the latter on the market is threatening the local stores' existence and may erase the local identities of the small societies around them, however, the government can take measures to save local owners from losing their shops. Nowadays, chain supermarkets are controlling the various shopping sectors, and small shops can not compete with the wide range of supermarkets ' products, or their low prices, hence, most of the small stores close eventually and their local owners lose their income sources. For,example Burger King's multiple branches were the main reason for the closing of more than 80 local restaurants in London since 2010. Moreover, due to the fact that local shops are owned and run by locals, these establishments are originally part of the local structure and are contributing in many social and economic aspects within the local space, which means that taking them out of the picture will destroy enormous part of the local identity. like I can not consider Cairo city as a whole without the Zaqaziek cafe or the traditional restaurants. The authorities can help small businesses in their competition against large supermarkets by lowering their taxes and providing financial aid to them. In addition, the administrations can issue regulations that prevent monopoly and enforce fair trade rules, because the department stores rely on selling huge amounts of products with a small margin of profits which is an approach that can not be achieved by small shops and local manufacturers. In conclusion, large supermarkets are threatening local Identities and the existence of domestic businesses, however, the authorities can help small shop owners by lowering their taxes and supporting them financially.