Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other counties have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalization has spearheaded the effort to make the world a small village. The variety of options in our daily lives has gradually increased because of it. The advantages surely outweigh the disadvantages in several aspects. Opportunities for local businesses lead to the pros, while increments in pollution define the cons. On the positive side, local vendors have numerous options to increase their revenues. They can import several foreign products to attract and sell to local consumers. While having variety in goods, the quality of products will be the best because of tough competition; the price factor will also be minimalistic. For example, kiwi from New Zealand is now available in Indian fruit stalls at a fair price. In addition, the manufacturing industries will boost in under-developed countries because of cheap labour, enhancing employment opportunities. The government itself can witness the benefits in taxes paid by foreign companies. For instance, car development requires several small parts like seats, metals, lights, etc. The factories producing these small objects can achieve high profits by supplying their products to car companies. In contrast, using foreign products in local countries produces a by-product called pollution. The materials are made thousands of miles apart to save their production costs. While selling those items in different countries, they have to travel by air, ships, trucks, etc. These means of transport are the prime cause of the increment in global warming. Apple is making its iPhone in India, and the US and Canada are the largest consumers of Apple products. As a result, they travel from India to the US, harming the environment. To conclude, importing goods has merits and demerits, but the pros outweigh the cons. The examples given above prove the various benefits against a minor loss. There will be numerous monetary benefits for the government, the population will have more choices, and the environment will be the one to suffer the consequences.