It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this?

Nowadays more and more senior high school students choose to have a gap year before entering university. Even though this condition has some drawbacks, I firmly believe that many positive impacts can also be observed. The negative consequences of having a year off have a strong relation with psychological aspects. First and foremost, students might lose their motivation to pursue higher education. Study reveals that staying away from academic ambient for more than three months can decline students ’ motivation for studying. Secondly, it is argued that when gap- year students enter the university they have to face a culture shock about academic studies. This is because they feel that they are not familiar with the assignment. This situation inevitably happens in all students, but the proportion of being depressed is higher in gap- year students than in others. However, having a gap year is often wise for deciding on the major on the campus. This is particularly true for students who are still in dilemma to choosing a subject. Choosing an unsuitable subject might lead to stress and depression since students push themselves to continue studying what they do not want to learn. So, it will be better to give a break time to have deep thinking about the subject choice. Moreover, taking a year off also has benefits for students further careers. It is because they usually try to achieve more experiences that are relevant to their dream job throughout the gap- year period. For instance, science students who yearn to become a biology lecturer join apprenticeships in education companies for a year to ensure that they gain more knowledge and experience before entering university. Clearly, this training will enhance their understanding better compared to those who enrol on university directly without a year off. As a result, they will be more adaptive when studying at campus and having a good chance for employability instead. In conclusion, though taking a gap year has some disadvantages, I strongly believe that this action could be beneficial for students in the long run.