Some individuals believe that higher education should be funded by the government.Others, however, argue that it ohs the responsibility of individuals to fund their education. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued that scientific research and developments should be in favour of providing ordinary people with a better life. I totally agree with this argument. I believe that since most scientific projects are indirectly supported by people, they should be the ones who benefit from the results. It is true that the main goal of science should be the improvement of our daily lives, and the main reason for it is that we are the ones who support it financially through our taxes and donations. To explain more, most countries offer undergraduate students free education, and most postgraduation positions are paid. It is obvious that the government allocates a significant budget to scientific developments, and taxpayers are the ones whose taxes are the main source of the educational budget. As a result, researchers and scientists should feel responsible to prioritize the crowd and their benefits. Another important reason for the importance of this purpose is that the nation assumes that their interests will be taken care of by scientists, as they try to find solutions for the problems people face in their lives. I believe that their disappointment might lead to a social decline, as people may no longer be able to trust scientists’ intentions, and may feel betrayed. When speaking about the practical purpose of science, however, we need to understand that not every research project has an immediate practical use, and it might take a long time for some scientific subjects to produce practical results. For example, most mathematics research appears to be limited to the theoretical interests of the researchers, but we would not have been able to send rockets to space –which might help us to move to another globe in the future - if it were not for many mathematics scientists who conducted basic research. In conclusion, I restate that the main purpose of science should be the improvement of people ’s lives. Nevertheless, there are many areas of research that do not seem to be practical at first, but we need to consider the potential impacts their result might have on our daily lives over a longer period of time.