Some people believe that it is more improtant to teach children the literature and history of their own country than that of other countries, to what extent do you agree or disagree

Opinions are divided on whether children should tilt the balance on learning local history and literature rather than foreign ones. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that it is better to place the emphasis on equal measure. On the one hand, there is no doubt that students should pay more attention to history and literature about their own countries. For one thing, it cannot only strengthen the national pride for the young generation which plays a key role in their development but drive them to explore more about it. For instance, introducing William Shakespeare’s famous writings and stories at that time can trigger British children ’s interest and fondness for the UK. For another, knowing local history and literature is able to make children a better understanding of their countries and give them a sense of belonging when they are fully aware of the past and traditions of their motherlands, thereby inspiring patriotism and uniting the country. On the other hand, people without learning significant events and classics in other countries will not have a big picture of the world, which may stifle the future of children. Living in the globalized world, international exchanges grow in great popularity across the globe, meaning that not only should we gain insight into our own cultures but need to comprehend other civilizations and it should be a must for teachers to introduce students to historical events that occurred in foreign nations and classical books written by foreign writers. For instance, Greek and Roman civilizations impose considerate influence on Western cultures, which should be taught in the US and UK, in an effort to help the young better understand their own history and classical writings. In conclusion, while it is important that we ought to teach children history and literature regarding their own countries, under no circumstance should we ignore the significance of introducing world-known past events and classical books.