Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

At the present time, crime, a prevailing issue posing a serious threat to society, is believed to be unstoppable. I am completely against this opinion since crime can be prevented by major measures regarding support from the government and the emergence of new technologies. First and foremost, it is the fundamental demand such as appropriate education, health care and welfare satisfied by the government for the citizens that can inhibit them from committing a crime which is considered to be inevitable. This is mainly because should the basic education and the healthcare system not be provided inexpensively or free of charge, a part of the citizens, especially those living in the countryside and remote areas, may not be willing to approach them. Besides, by living on the welfare distributed by the government, residents may not have to be worried about how to manage to live with unemployment and even worse, homelessness since they can pay for food and housing with the given welfare. To illustrate this point, in Vietnam, the proportion of offenders has been reduced by 5% each year since its government started to pay more attention to improving the life of the citizens with the supply of innovative education and better healthcare system for every area throughout the country, particularly remote areas. Another justification for the possibility of crime prevention is the emergence of new advanced technologies. To begin with, these technologies can help with capturing illegal activities for their mass installation all around the world. A great example of this is public cameras. With the aid of this equipment, the surveillance of police officers will be enhanced, helping the process of crime arrest. Additionally, criminal identification can be executed via fingerprint, DNA, face as well as voice recognition and others. Thanks to these advanced technologies, offenders over the globe are at a high rate of being caught and receiving apposite punishment. Also, they may deter the intention of committing a crime in its infancy. In conclusion, there is an argument that crime is a threatening problem for society while no measures could be executed to preclude it. However, I completely disagree with this opinion for reasons in terms of support from the government and the emergence of new technologies.