In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Recently, there is a trend among youngsters, to travel or pursue a job before taking up a university education. In fact, many countries are supporting high school graduates to take up this necessary break and refresh their minds. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people pursuing a job or travel before starting dgree education. There are many advantages if teenagers decide to travel or take up a proffesional work. Firstly, there are many Universities that give first preference to experienced professionals for their courses. For instance, IIM Bangalore and IIM Kolkata gives weightage to experienced students when it comes to the selection process. Additionaly, if students are not sure about the degree they want to study, they can take up a job to understand their strengths and make a informed decision. Other than that, youngsters can even decide to travel. This will rejuvenate their mind before taking up a university degree. On the other hand, the main disadvantage is that juvenile can loose their interest to attain higher education. For instance, if they get salaries equivalent to a degree holder, they may end up not taking up a college education. Additionaly, Travelling is very addictive and if they fall into this trap, they may end up loosing interest in educating themselves. This will hamper the education system and the career's of many naive teenagers. In a nutshell, there are both positive and negative aspects for the idea of touring or working before taking up a college degree. Hence, It becomes important to educate our future generation about the upsides and downsides of taking a break before enrolling for graduation.