Nowadays most people are not as fit and active as they were in the past. What are the main causes of this situation? Suggest some possible solutions.

The debate surrounding people's level of fitness nowadays versus in the past is a complex and nuanced topic. Despite having more sports centres now, society is far from becoming healthier. This essay will discuss the reason for this situation and what can we do to strike a balance to the problem. Firstly, because of the invention of modern technology, it can be argued that it led to convenient and sedentary lifestyles, which can be problematic. For instance, people would have driven their car to get around rather than walk, even if the shops are close by as they are busy and in a rush. Furthermore, it can be said that there are more workers who work behind the desk these days. And as more time they spend at work, the less physical activities they will get throughout the day. Hence, all of these activities potentially contribute to chronic conditions such as obesity and cardiovascular health. Therefore, in order to overcome the challenges, there are some solutions that can be done. For instance, rather than driving all the time, individuals can take public transportation, cycle or walk for a change. Not only it can increase their heart rate to keep them fit but can also reduce anxiety and depression. Furthermore, for workers who are tasked behind the desk, it is essential to have regular breaks from sitting. For example, they can go for a walk during the breaks. And if they were taking phone calls, they could be standing while answering them. In addition to this, they could have purchased adjustable desks to allow them to do it standing up or while walking on a mini treadmill. To conclude, in spite of more sports facilities, society is becoming less fit than before. The invention of modern technology has made it possible for them to be more sedentary. As such, it is essential to adjust the lifestyle to be more active, such as walking and standing up more when possible.