In many countries, sports stars earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that sports stars earn too much money, while others claim that they deserve their high salaries. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Undoubtedly, the earnings of top athletes are substantial. While some individuals think these expert players are overpaid, others argue that they are entitled to such compensation. This essay will examine both perspectives and present my opinion. Primarily, it is true that exceptional sports stars have enormous salaries. Moreover, they earn a lot from sponsorships and advertisements, making this profession one of the most sought-after in the world. However, they contribute much less to the development of society compared to professionals like doctors and engineers. For example, doctors heal people and engineers build infrastructure, making everyone highly admire these professions because they improve society as a whole. Therefore, individuals in these academic fields should earn considerably more than they currently do. In contrast, sports people should receive less income. Conversely, it is very challenging to succeed at the professional level. Those who are extremely gifted and work very hard can achieve fame because of the high level of competition in this field. Studies show that a tiny percentage of the elite players make it to the big clubs. In addition, watching sports gives people a much-needed break from their busy lives, and good players enhance this experience with the effort they put into games. For instance, I eagerly wait for the weekend so that I can watch my favourite cricket star, Virat Kohli, on television. Thus, talented athletes bring a large audience to sporting channels. The more a sports channel grows, the more job opportunities it creates, resulting in a major boost to the country's economic growth. Hence, expert athletes deserve high wages. In conclusion, although top sportsmen do not contribute significantly to community development, I believe that the struggle they went through to be famous and the viewers they attract to television justify their astronomical paychecks.