Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinks of jobs required?

With the popularity of a sedentary lifestyle, online shopping is more and more common among not only young individuals but also adults. There are a number of positive influences that this movement brings to our environment and some kinds of jobs also are affected by this trend. Granted, others might argue that the popularity of online shopping can boost the statistic of vehicles on the road, leading to an increase in the amount of carbon emission which has a dire consequence on the environment. The reason for this is that online shopping inevitably requires delivery people who often travel by motorbike. However, this trend also decreases the travelling demand of customers, and as a result the amount of carbon emitted truly declines significantly because delivery drivers can convey products for many purchasers if they are on the same routes. Moreover, shopping malls or stores always require substantial energy and a large space to operate, compared to online shopping. Consequently, traveling online shopping can serve as a great solution to the energy source consumed which will bring benefits for humans in the future. Online shopping can create many opportunities for some job development such as online grocery personal shoppers, delivery drivers, and web designers, however, this tendency also might lead to the bankruptcy of many traditional retailers, forcing thousands of individuals to face unemployment. The figure of the jobless crowd might outnumber the job opening created by the rapid development of online shopping owing to the significantly higher figure of employees that traditional retailers needed, resulting in a higher level of unemployment. In conclusion, this tendency can have advantages in human life because of the reduction in carbon emissions and energy used, however, the development of online shopping might give rise to the unemployment rate.