Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Nowadays, it has been discussed if hosting international sports events is beneficial for the nation or not. While there is a group of citizens who support this statement, it is claimed by others that it is detrimental to local residents. The primary reason for those who believe that it is good for the country is that receiving this type of event fosters the development of local athletes as well as boosts the infrastructure of national sports centres. This is because it gives the opportunity for those athletic men and women to expose themselves to the global game mainstream, which would be unaffordable for them if they had to go abroad. Additionally, to host this kind of competition local governments are forced to invest in improving their sports installations. A case in point is, the recent Panamerican Games hosted by Chile in 2023 where many young talents had the possibility to face an international competition environment in their respective disciplines. Besides, sports centres such as the National Stadium pass through several modifications to receive the games properly. On the other hand, there are some individuals who think differently, they argue that these events affect locals. They mainly stand that due to the competition, the traffic considerably increases during the event, which is detrimental to the lifestyle, especially for those who live near stadiums. However, it is certainly true that whereas this issue only lasts as long as the competition is taking place, the improved structures last longer and generally speaking can be used by all citizens once the event has ended. To conclude, both parts have their point, nevertheless, the benefits of developing international sports competitions, like the one mentioned above, outweigh by far its drawbacks.