There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages as a form of assessment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many schools across the world, exams are becoming the popular method to assess students. Although this may result in standardized education in the country, it also has disadvantages that should be considered. In this essay I will examine what I believe to be the benefits and drawbacks of exams as the main tool for assessing students ' understanding. To begin with, for professions such as nurses and doctors, the students need to pass the national level of final examination which in Indonesia is known as the National Exam for undergraduate students nurse. In my opinion, this will benefit both students and future employers as the nurse has passed all requirements in terms of knowledge and skills before they can actually take care of their patients. On top of that, it may improve the quality of care given to patients and families leading to increased customers satisfaction. However, there are a few upsides to this form of assessment. First, it does not allow the school and teachers to grade the students based on their performances throughout their education. This may be unfair for the student who had been studying and participating in all school activities. Secondly, it is a common issue that students may have experienced difficulties during an exam resulting in a low result. A study published in 2022 shows that more than 50% of students feel nervous during school exams because of the time limit and exam conditions. Furthermore, this study also reveals that learners who felt nervous achieved a lower score compared to those who had not. Indeed, some highly accomplished students might be disadvantaged by this kind of assessment. In conclusion, adapting the exam form for assessing the students can be both beneficial and maleficence. In my personal opinion, exams are necessary,especially for specific degrees such as nursing, medical or dental medicine. However, students ' performance throughout the year should also be considered and given a percentage when assessing dan grading the students.