Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Nowadays, there is a widespread divergence of opinions over the concept of taking alternative medicines and treatments. People have different ideas about the development. While someone doubts the drawbacks of it, I believe it is a positive trend if the government set up a regular basis. On the one hand, it can be attributed to numerous reasons why people are interested in alternative medicines. Firstly, visiting the usual doctor has become a set of routines for someone. It might reduce the effectiveness and no longer works. It is ten helpful to introduce a new approach to the original process. Secondly, overusing chemicals leads to serious side effects on our bodies, whereas some alternative therapies, such as herb medicine and message, are seen as natural and non-toxic. On the other hand, people are concerned about the safety of these alternative treatments. They do not feel safe because they are unlike mainstream treatments which can be proved in scientific tests. However, there is evidence that can prove alternative treatments can promote general health and well-being. Furthermore, the safety problems can be dealt with by establishing a set of basis regularly by the authorities. For example, in Taiwan, there is vast majority accept traditional Chinese herb medicine as one of the popular alternative treatments. Those Chinese herb medicine clinics are registered to the government same as the clinics that service mainstream treatments. To sum up, there are always two sides to every issue, and alternative medicines and treatments are no exception. Even though there are disadvantages, these are not something that cannot be dealt with. Yet based on the argument above, I, on balance, am of the opinion that the advantages still outweigh the disadvantages.