Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The importance of sports in society has recently drawn much attention. While many consider them to be recreational activities, I fully believe that sports are a significant contributor to a healthy and affluent society. On the one hand, many think sports have a minor role in their lives and they purely play for pleasure, To be specific, many adults are likely to focus on other aspects of life that seem more significant such as working or earning money. They only engage in activities that are physical in nature during their free time to reduce stress. For instance, they often participate in football matches after long working hours. Their motivation is simply to release pressure, and take a break from their everyday responsibilities including work and domestic tasks. Therefore, sports are considered an activity for recreational purposes. On the other hand, I entirely agree that sports have a significant positive impact on people’s life. Recent research has shown the relevant influence of increased mental health on work productivity and better career prospects. For instance, an employee who often spends time going to the gym or doing regular exercise is likely to have a clearer mind and have more flexibility at work. Moreover, sports also have financial advantages. This can be seen in some countries that hold big sports events. Not only players are rewarded with huge sums of money, but their countries or organizers also generate more income by advertising sports activities. Thus, sports are beneficial for raising income. To conclude, although the role of sports might be underestimated by many people, I contend they play a vital role in any society in terms of health and financial benefits.