Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantage outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media is used every day for contact and update content and it proves to be very beneficial. This writer argues that the disadvantages of spreading false information along with cyber fraud outweigh the benefits of connecting with the world. It is vital to point out that information on most of the social media platforms is not always correct. This is because of the freedom of speech policies which most of the platforms have that allow the users to upload myths, hypotheses and false statements. As a result, many people are confused, divided into groups and protected from what they think is true which can adversely affect relationships and behaviours. In 2020, there were Facebook groups that encouraged citizens to consume certain components to be immuted to COVID-19, those words made the situation worsen and it is believed to killed a dozen families in Vietnam. Another point worth considering is that all kinds of people can access the Internet even criminals. Being popular with the youth, social media websites are hot spots for people with both good and bad intentions to create a community dedicated to a certain topic. However, there are some web pages that surpass the given limit and start to discuss and plan illegal events. A famous community focused on pets on Facebook is criticised for collaborating with pet robbers to make the owners pay for their pets’ freedom. Thus online social websites are not safe for anyone. The majority tend to ignore the drawbacks and think that keeping in touch and updating news via social networks can compensate. However, the truth might be different, the governments can manipulate news and data in their region, making it difficult to acknowledge historical events. Furthermore, criminals can fake their identity and trick for money. In conclusion, despite offering various methods of communicating with the whole world, the advantage of social media is outweighed by illegal action and scattered untruth statements. Henceforth, it is recommended to stay safe while surfing on social platforms.