Some people believe that standardized English exams, like IELTS, are just big business to make money. Others however, think that standard English exams are important for society. Which do you believe and why ? Give explanations and examples to support your opinion

Standardized tests have become very popular among students who want to pursue their higher education abroad. A Few believe that it's just an agenda to make riches. However, there are others who are aware of the importance of these tests and doesn' t hold opinion like the former ones. My opinion goes with the latter ones. In this,essay I will elaborate my ideas on these tests by giving relevant reasons and instances. To begin with, these tests are important to test students ' proficiency in varied subjects. These tests prepare them to go through the intensive curriculum, helping them to cope with the pressure. For instance, if an Indian students want to study in Germany, he is required to give a language proficiency test. This is not because the embassy or other institutions doesn' t want the student to study there, and they just want to earn money through his application fee and test registration fee, but it is for his benefit. Despite him being good at his studies, if he is not fluent, rather proficient in the country's language then he won' t be able to survive in the country. This won' t only affect his studies, but it will also affect his mental well-being. Hence, in my,opinion a little bit of preparation for exploring a new culture and studying in a new environment won' t do any harm. On the other hand, there is a common notion among people that these test makers are just willing to earn money by curating these difficult tests, making it impossible for students to pass the test in the first trial. Although, this belief system is common among those who aren' t able to clear the exam, even after attempting it several times. For example, I was not able to get desired marks on GRE, though I rigorously prepared for it for 3 months. As a result, even I started thinking that it was just dirty tactics of test makers, due to which I was unable to clear the test. But, later I realized the test makers are willing to give you marks if you give them what they want, which is the right content. Therefore, if one will delve deeper to understand the significance of these exams, one will realize, how crucial they are and how they could help an individual in the longer run in several ways, be it by bringing new educational opportunities or advancements in career. In conclusion, I believe that these tests are very important to prepare international students to compete with local students at the university level. Moreover, when students passes these exams they gain a confidence to represent themselves in a way they want to.