Some people think that the high sales of products reflect the power of advertising instead of the consumers' demand. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people have a view that high sales of products result from the advertisement rather than consumers' own willingness. Although I argue that companies' ads sometimes encourage citizens to buy some unnecessary products, I firmly believe that the product's sales are not all about advertising. The first reason why I think ads can sometimes persuade people to buy something that they do not really need is that corporations always have celebrity endorsements when releasing their goods, which can attract many fans of these famous people. These fans want to copy their idols' appearance, such as clothes and shoes, to show their love and affection to them, even if celebrities do not really use the products that they endorse in real life. And another cause is that companies always encourage people, especially youngsters, to follow the latest trends and claim that using their products is a good way to express a teenager's personality and style, which would sometimes lead to impulsive shopping. As a result, youths may overspend money to buy it and suffer from debt finally. However, I do not believe consumer shopping willingness can be entirely decided by a corporation's advertising. First, people have their own preferences and taste, if the product is not their thing, they are less likely to buy it just because of the ads ' promotions. Second, individuals have different incomes and budgets and have limited money to spend. For instance, people from low-income families are less likely to buy designer clothes or luxuries because they cannot afford them. By contrast, they tend to allocate their money carefully and find the most suitable one. In conclusion, while I agree that people can be influenced by ads to buy goods occasionally, I strongly believe that it is more of a personal choice of consumers according to their preferences and incomes.