The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media are becoming increasingly popular. The use of these applications is replacing face-to-face interaction for several people in everyday life. This essay will discuss in detail why the advantages of social media outweigh its disadvantages. In this modern,world the use of social media is prevalent. For instance, due to the use of Facebook, relatives and friends that lives far from us can now be contacted through it. With just one tap, you are able to talk to and see them via video call. It is cost-effective, because you don't need to spend a lot of money and travel far just to see them. Contacting them can be done anytime and anywhere as long as you have access to the internet and your handphone. It is a great development in terms of communication. On the other hand, a great deal of crime is being done online. One of the drawbacks of social media is that you meet new people that are not genuine. Most of them are using a dummy account and are waiting for a gullible person to swindle. It is effortless for them to do bad things and it gives them the advantage to hide behind their pseudo-accounts. Furthermore, identity thief is also one of the problems with social media. By pretending to be you, they can garner more information about you that can lead to their poor intentions. To conclude, social media has its own positive and negative effects. The advantages of it are beneficial for everyone however, it is also critical to be cautious and be smart on using it to avoid being a victim of scoundrels.