In some cultures, Children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

Every child is unique and different in their own way. However, in various cultures, they are motivated to compete with their friends. Is this competition advantageous or disadvantageous? In my opinion, there are more downsides if children are constantly competing with one another. There are several reasons why parents in different parts of the world, encourage competitiveness amongst children. One of them is motivation where they watch their friends grow and put in more effort to develop themselves. For instance, if a student scores 80% marks, his parents compare him to a top scorer to inspire him to focus more on his studies. In addition to this, another reason why some traditions believe in competition is to build a competitive spirit and sportsmanship in their offspring that can aid them in their future endeavours. Although these reasons are valid, I strongly believe that there are more disadvantageous a child goes through when they are continuously competing with fellow students. Firstly, it creates a lot of mental pressure around the child to be the best amongst the lot. This pressure will have a long-term impact on their minds, consequently, leading to mental health conditions such as anxiety, stress or depression. The teenagers, moreover, may not be interested in comparing themselves because they may have different interests. If an emerging child singer, for example, cannot be compared to someone pursuing art. Thus, parents must inspire their young ones to pursue what they like rather than just comparing them to and competing with their other friends. To conclude, children are incomparable. There are certain benefits when different communities promote competition among children, however, I strongly think the downside of this practice has more negative outcomes.