Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It has been suggested by some people that the amount of recycled material is not sufficient from households and the sole way to enhance the situation is making it compulsory through legalization. I strongly agree that this is an effective measure and a step in the right direction to increase the recycling. To begin with, the advances made by humans have made us the dominant species on the planet and many renowned scientists are concerned we have become too successful. It means that aside from the CO2 emissions generated by industry and cars, humans create too much waste by consuming and extravagant use of natural resources. Therefore, there is pressing need to remedy the pollution situation and recycling is one of the effective ones. It is my view that if the government make the waste recycling obligatory, it would result in improving the pollution situation and people are more likely to become a more environment conscious citizens. Moreover, Although the media try to enculturate people about those problems, the efforts have not been adequate and there is a good chance using the fear factor or sanctions for instance, are the best methods to compel people to increase home recycling and change their lifestyle since it would act as a wake-up call about the taxing environmental problems. In contrast, some people claim that it would not be practical to make recycling an enforceable law. The firmly insist that this law can bring about more problem for the government. For example, how law enforcement can check whether people are recycling or not? It would not be a sensible approach and in addition there is an argument that people should be allowed to decide about if they want to throw rubbish away or recycle it. However, I do not find this argument convincing as firstly, government can simply follow the progress of recycling by putting several disposal bins for every household and provide regular collection service and secondly, I believe this is not a personal matter and every one of us is responsible for the environment and pollution. In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea that putting legal limits for increasing the home waste recycling is an effective idea because it would force people to help the planet earth and raise the public awareness about environmental problems.