More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in the city and how can governments make urban life better for everyone.

Driven by urbanization, a proliferation of people immigrating from rural areas to cities, especially metropolises, make an effort to seek better vocational and educational opportunities. This essay will analyse the difficult problems of settling down in urban areas and propose some feasible solutions to improve the living standard of urban dwellers. First of all, difficulties abound for new settlers living in cities, but chief among them is that most of them have to suffer from overcrowded living conditions, because the housing price hikes significantly which cannot be afforded by most rural immigrants. As a result, the whole family would crowd in a small space lacking necessary facilities, such as tap water and flush toilets, thus resulting in some diseases and suffering for the young and old. Furthermore, as the increasing number of residents swarm into cities, it may trigger the shortage of public services, say, healthcare, public transit, etc., which cannot only place a heavy burden on governments but also increase the cost of living in those places. For example, commuters have to pay more time and effort in travelling from one place to another if the downtown is jam-packed with motor vehicles, thus elevating the cost spent on the city on the whole. In a bid to address the problems discussed above, all interested parties should work collaboratively to alleviate the pressure on city inhabitants. To begin with, the government should create more job posts and improve educational resources in the countryside, which in turn will make people choose to work or study in their hometowns instead of metropolises. For instance, if the young are able to land decent jobs in small towns, they would not endeavour to emigrate to other places. On the other hand, municipal authorities should invest more funds in building more houses affordable for ordinary people and upgrading the public transport system, making them accommodate more citizens and work effectively. As a result, not only can it increase the efficiency of the city but attract more talents to settle over there. In conclusion, there are many severe consequences caused by the increasing number of urban immigrants, and both governments and individuals should go hand in hand to solve those issues.