32.Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some contend that scientific research should place emphasis on addressing global health concerns, whereas others consider that other more important matters, such as advanced technologies and environmental damage, should be prioritized. In this essay, both sides will be explored, followed by my opinion. On the one hand, the idea that science attaches more importance to dealing with world health issues is grounded in various valid points. Firstly, proponents of this perspective argue that humans are facing numerous diseases, a lack of access to clean water and malnutrition. Therefore, prioritizing health research can help alleviate human suffering and improve the quality of life for many. Secondly, poor health can lead to a substantial economic impact on society. To be more specific, disease outbreaks, chronic conditions and health costs can burden economies. Thus, investing in health research can lead to cost-effective solutions and long-term economic benefits. On the other hand, other areas, like technological advancements and environmental issues, should not be neglected because they are, in many ways, the factors contributing to health concerns. Regarding the environment, if scientists had carried out research to find solutions to pollution, loss of biodiversity and deforestation, human health and even their lives would not have been at risk. In terms of technology, if scientists had dedicated more time and effort to develop modern technology and methods for the treatment of fatal diseases, patients could be diagnosed and cured at an earlier stage, leading to an increase in human lifespan. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, the adoption of modern devices allows scientists to quickly analyse the genetic structure of the virus and its variants, facilitating the production of vaccines which in turn saves millions of people around the world. In conclusion, while it is important to allocate resources effectively and efficiently to address global challenges, I firmly believe that health concerns should be prioritized in scientific research. Health is a foundational aspect of human beings and health research can benefit other areas as well. Healthy individuals can be better equipped to solve environmental and societal issues and lead to economic prosperity. However, it does not mean that other issues should be ignored, rather, it underscores the need for a balanced and holistic approach to research and problem-solving.