Some people think the Olympic Games is an exciting event which can bring nations together. Other people think Olympic Games is a way for people to waste money that could be used for other events. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

On the question of whether the Olympic games bring countries together or merely a waste of time and money people are divided. Some individuals believe organizing these games requires a lot of revenue which can be used for other purposes while others think it is a useful event that brings countries closer. I completely concur with this statement that the Olympic games are not only the source of bringing the world’s talent together on one platform but also provide an opportunity to build relationships. Firstly, opponents of the Olympic games say that these events do not add any value but rather place financial pressure on the host which utilizes a large amount of their annual budget to organize such a huge sports event. For example, the country needs to build special auditoriums and grounds for sports which will never be used after the completion of games and are difficult to maintain. As a result after hosting the Olympic games, many countries face considerable economic burden. Additionally, they also have to determine the safety of all the players which might be difficult for some organizations. On the other hand, the advocate provides the argument that competing in these events builds the confidence of the players and eventually the whole nation. Additionally, citizens come together to cheer up their countries’ athletes thus building the emotion of nationality in them. For example, millions of people travel from their homeland to the host nation to support their players. Furthermore, It significantly increases tourism which provides an extra income source for the local population. To conclude, I believe that the Olympic games are an exciting and necessary event but equilibrium must be maintained. The administration makes sure that the country is capable of hosting an event of this magnitude, and that it will not cause any detrimental effects on the public. Moreover, for future reference, economic help from developed states would be a good step.