Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news, do you agree or disagree.

Driven by the proliferation of internet use, citizens are more inclined to obtain information online instead of newspapers in the past. However, there is a view that the printed media will still play the most important role in sourcing news. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that it will eclipse to a certain degree as technology improves by leaps and bounds. It is true that newspaper still functions as a major outlet for spreading information across the globe. For one thing, the internet is not available anywhere in the world, where some remote areas lacking network access are largely reliant on traditional news media and reading a paper is the most favourable choice for residents because of affordability and accessibility. For another, the paper media is more reliable and insightful when broadcasting news. Internet, while it boasts of real-time coverage and variety of delivery, makes it too difficult to regulate the credibility of resources when it comes to news delivery. As a result, the newspaper that is under the regulation of watchdogs provides more reliable information and in-depth interviews on the same story, compared with online media. On the other hand, the traditional media has faded away influenced by its counterparts on the internet. For instance, Twitter and TikTok have gained popularity worldwide, especially for the young generation, in which they cannot only gain information but share news and experiences with others. More importantly, individuals are able to make money from self- media outlets, thus giving them an edge on news coverage. By contrast, the printed media is controlled by a few oligarchs, which makes them less competitive and follow the trend. Furthermore, newspapers consume a great amount of natural resources such as paper and printed oil, which cannot damage the environment but is harmful to human beings. Therefore, it should be phased out with time passing by. In conclusion, although newspapers will still act as a significant vehicle to deliver news around the world, it would not be as important as a dominant role as it used to be.