International tourism has become more popular in recent decades. However, this can have a considerable impact on the countries which attract large numbers of visitors. What positive and negative effects does tourism have on countries which are popular destinations?

People from all around the world travel and spend vacations across borders. Some nations have a major role in tourism in their economy and culture as tourists from different places stay there and visit very frequently. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of being a famous travel destination. To begin, the popularity of a place among the masses have a number of positive role in that country. These include financial growth, employment, cultural exchange and indirect promotion of art and architecture and other businesses. For instance, Goa in the west of India is a famous spot for vacation and attracts thousands of people not only from different states of India but also from other countries. Its natives share a mixed community because of their constant contact with people from different cultures so they naturally inhabit acceptance, respect and freedom qualities. Furthermore, tourism has a significant role in economic growth and gives an opportunity for creative arts and ideas to flourish. However, when a country is recognised and has frequent visitors, it requires an adequate financial budget to maintain that sector. It is also required to have a good security force to maintain law and order. For example, many international drug dealers and smugglers choose tourist places to sell drugs so the country has to take measures to watch such illegal activities. Another interesting responsibility is not to allow its society to lose its own identity and stay with its basic traditions which could be mitigated with tourism. To sum up, international tourism has a major impact on popular destinations due to frequent visitors. It is both advantageous as well disadvantageous as mentioned above and I believe tourism brings more recognition and money but a careful watch would help in the prevention of some negative concerns.