In many countries, formal exams are used to assess students’ abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students’ abilities? Do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks?

Even with the modernization in education, it is a known fact that to test the knowledge level of students, official examinations are a must. Children are supposed to pass these tests to prove their abilities. The upcoming essay will discuss both positive and negative aspects. On the positive side, the most apparent advantage of formal exams is knowledge. Needless to say, these assessments teach learners the things that they will not be learning outside school. Therefore, to ensure that they remember what they learnt for a long time they are required to take these tests which in turn help them gain information about their planet. Moreover, these evaluations create a sense of competitiveness among students and inspire them to be ahead of others. Furthermore, having a degree or diploma broadens the opportunities for jobs for youngsters. For instance, certification holders are known to be literate and have more knowledge about a job than those without it. Thus, educated youth will help in developing the country. On the dark side, these assessment tests build pressure on the young minds and become bookworms, thus, not giving them enough time to go outside to play games or socialize. This will put their minds in depression and stress. For example, statistics lead to an array of results that the students who take part in extracurricular activities are more likely to be healthy and have better concentration. Additionally, this pressure of passing also encourages cheating among students. Limited assessment is another negative point of formal evaluations as they only assess a student’s ability in a particular test-taking environment. It does not test the overall understanding of a subject. To conclude, even though the formal examination helps students gain information, it sure does build pressure and stress on their minds. In my opinion, therefore, its advantages outweigh the disadvantages but with some improvements.