In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in most cities, architects and builders are investing in new ways of establishing infrastructure. Buildings are separated by their purpose and usage. Shops, educational centres, and dwellings have their own specific areas. While this zoning policy offers certain advantages, the notable drawbacks outweigh the positives. Above all, by providing special zones for each department, governments can ensure the safety and security of their citizens. For example, dividing departments like schools and residential areas from offices and shops, was done in the newest city, Washington, in China. The planners were able to avoid crimes and distractions. Hence, all members of each group are focusing on their activities without worrying. Moreover, it is beneficial for the environment to use this way of planning. People will have more calm and quiet surroundings. It is a good way to decrease traffic jams and people rushing around all the time. This could make it easier for people to relax and enjoy their time at home. By contrast, dividing areas by their function might be the main concern for people because it lessens the diversity of activities and leads to less communication. When different establishments are in one neighbourhood, it fosters a sense of community and belonging. Mixing residential and commercial areas makes the streets more lively with parks, cafes, and galleries. For instance, old cities like London, New York, and Paris are known for their cultural vibrancy. Such places provide a variety of opportunities without spending much time finding the destination; thus, all facilities appear in one location. In conclusion, although there are pluses and minuses to zoning, authorities are making decisions after surveys based on the state of the county and the opinions of their residents.