Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Under the influence of sales promotions, the sales volumes of goods experience a significant increase, which therefore trigger a worry that advertisements may drive consumers to purchase more than what they really need. From my perspective, I am not fully in favour of this opinion, believing that it is able to indicate the real buying power in some aspects, although adverts can exert some impacts on shoppers. On the one hand, advertising plays a big part in promoting new products and increasing sales, thus creating more demand for consumers. For one thing, as Steven Jobs once said, if there is no customer demand then make a new one, manufacturers and advertisers are endeavouring to grab customers’ attention with fancy shapes and novel functions. As a result, they will bring the potential of purchasing some merchandise that was considered not worthy of buying before into full play. For another, some fraudulent advertisements exploit the weaknesses of the young and old to induce them to buy something unneeded and unnecessary, which in turn reflects false demands in our society. On the other hand, advertising is a major means of delivering useful messages, which makes every customer informed of all products that they are interested in. To begin with, there is an information gap between sellers and buyers, meaning that either side is unable to gain sufficient knowledge about the opposite side as a result of selling at lower prices or buying at higher prices. However, advertisements make it possible to bridge the gulf, thus making all interested parties fully aware of each side to equalize the business and ultimately present the real demand in society. Furthermore, technology has revolutionized the way we live and it therefore brings new and more demands for people. For instance, the demand for smartphones was incurred by the internet rather than the advert of the iPhone. In conclusion, while advertisements indeed place some influence on consumers’ decisions to shop, it is unable to manipulate all buying behaviours.