Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When people immigrate to another country, one of the challenges they face is to speak in a language other than their mother tongue. It is argued that these people will face some social and practical problems. I agree with this statement to some extent. In my opinion, although it is possible for a person to learn how to communicate in daily situations in another language, it is almost impossible for an individual to reach the proficiency of a native speaker, and this might cause some issues. When it comes to immigration, immigrants will have some difficulty communicating with others. As a result, they will have to learn the language of their destination to be able to live there. I believe if people spend enough amount of time practicing a new language, they will, eventually, manage to use it while communicating in daily situations. It is true that they will go through some difficulties, but they will get more and more fluent over time. Secondly, due to the advancement of technology, it is easier for immigrants to convey their thoughts, using different websites which are designed to translate sentences from and to various languages. Learning to speak like a native speaker, however, seems to be impossible. Each language has many sophisticated words and grammatical structures that are not easy to master. It is sensible to argue that an immigrant can expand their vocabulary, but, most of the time, they will not go further than a foreigner’s daily needs. As a result, if they ever want to talk about an unusual topic, such as philosophy, they might not be able to articulate their thought clearly. Another challenging condition can be when an emergency happens, considering that in that case, there is no time for them to use their mobile phones for translation. As a result, people might get into trouble, and it can range from not being able to answer a question in a job interview to not being able to report an ongoing crime to police officers. In conclusion, there are many issues that immigrants have to deal with while living in a country with a different language. Although spending a considerable amount of time learning the foreign language and using online translation tools can mitigate the problems, I believe there are several unsurmountable ones that will make a foreigner’s life more difficult.