Many people depend on their smartphones and other electronic devices for communication, work, and entertainment. To what extent do you think that this reliance on technology is affecting interpersonal relationships and face-to-face communication?

There is no denying that several aspects of our lives are nowadays strictly dependent on smartphones and other technological tools. In my personal opinion, the electronic revolution has brought countless advantages to our daily routines, yet modifying or sometimes even neglecting the age old vis-a-vis relationships. First off, the last decade has enjoyed paramount breakthroughs in the field of technology which have been consequently conducive to endless pros in the field of communication, work and entertainment. For instance, connecting with a long lost friends who moved to the opposite side of the hemisphere, or finding the dream job thanks to an app could sound almost impossible just twenty years ago. In addition, the world of information has become more widely accessible to everyone, offering citizens the opportunity to delve into innumerable topics, share their opinions, and empower them. Thus, there are currently plenty of oppportunities in diverse branches of our reality due to smartphones. On the flip side, there are also several downsides to be considered. First and foremost, the activity of scrolling on social media to get a glimpse on others' lives might have deleterious consequences on our well-being. That is because the amount of time spent on our screens could be used in a more beneficial and wise way, such as practicing physical activity or reading. Besides, we might risk to develop a sense of dissatisfaction when comparing our lives to others', while we could benefit from those minutes cherishing and being grateful for our present. To conclude, technology has easen eaten up our realities from several points of view. Nonetheless, it might hinder our interpersonal relationship, and our mental well-being, risking to idle away precious time.