It’s important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Punctuality and discipline are pivotal to any person's behaviour especially children because they learn and make a mindset at a very young age. It is believed that young ones should be punished to understand what is right and wrong at an early age. I completely disagree with this statement and I also do not believe that parents and teachers should be allowed to give the same so as to teach good behaviour to children. To begin with, children are the most vulnerable asset of any society and they must be treated with love and care. Furthermore, there are numerous ways which can be adopted to make a child behave in a proper way and we can always try to mould a child who behaves the opposite. For example, a kid who is stubborn and does want to perform any task which is given to him by his school teacher can be treated in a way that he expresses what is the reason for such behaviour. As a result, one can find out why the child was behaving like that and what caused such an attitude so as to find a solution. In addition, there are a variety of workshops and seminars which are available in today's time which a student can attend accompanied by his parent or teacher so as to bring change in the attitude towards studies and life if needed. Moreover, people must raise their offspring in a healthy environment so that a child is not affected by bad surroundings. For instance, a child who is behaving oddly and the teacher scolds him for inappropriate behaviour rather then understanding the cause behind that is not good for the child's upbringing. To conclude, I would say there are always better ways to make a child behave well and there is no need to give physical, mental or emotional harm so as to make him a better person.