Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each tipe of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment

Nowadays, there is an increasing crime rate. However, some citizens think that there should be permanent punishments for each type of crime, while others consider that the motivation for committing a crime should be taken into account when deciding the punishment. In fact, I side with those who believe there should be fixed retribution for each type of crime. On the one hand, fixed punishments will work effectively to reduce the motivation for doing crimes. Citizens have a clear understanding of the retribution that they will get. By having a fixed sentence, society will be afraid of committing a crime. They will avoid doing bad things. For instance, people will not steal from their neighbours even though they need it to fulfil their daily needs because they understand the sentence that will come along after stealing. As a result, the rate of crime will decrease gradually. On the other hand, the motivation for committing a violation will make the retribution fair. Many people believe that it will be not fair if the government punish citizen without knowing the motive. For illustration, a grandmother who steals fruits from the garden gets the same punishment as a robber who steals money from the public even though the motives of these cases are different. However, by having consideration of the impulse to commit crimes, criminals will get a sentence fairer. Consequently, there will be a clear different retribution for criminals based on the level of impulse. To sum up, in this modern era, it is becoming easy for people to do misdeeds. In order to reduce the crime rate, the government needs to make the law clear for all citizens without considering the desire. Nevertheless, I am firmly convinced that fixed punishment for each type of crime will be a wiser decision to reduce the violation amount.