• Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, language is a mode of communication between humans. Most education institutes emphasise and focus on the students to learn English as it is an international language. Whilst, other people consider that local languages should be equally advocated to concentrate in the academic arena because native languages are as important as foreign. In this essay, I will be lighting up on both aspects. Although, I strongly believe that bilingualism can open a myriad of career opportunities in life. To begin with, learning English is pivotal in this competitive society as it is a language which recognised worldwide and spoken by many foreign countries. In addition, starting to learn it at the initial level can plethora of benefits for individuals such as opening new gates of success and familiarity with other nations. Furthermore, it gives confidence to individuals while interacting and meeting. Many people are planning to study or working in abroad and most of them struggle with language as it overcomes this language barrier problem. So, an individual can understand and communicate well in the society. On the other hand, despite English other native languages also play a vital role. For instance, people can easily travel and understand local traditions. Moreover, bilingualism also uplifts a person's listening skills and memory as it also creates a brotherhood among people. In addition, due to knowledge of local languages, a person can participate in many multi-national cultural events. Thus, the government should encourage people to learn local languages as it is pivotal for a person's development and provides cultural diversity to a country which is a main attraction for other countries. To conclude, I opine that English is important for people to interact freely and confidently throughout the globe. Whereas, the local languages are the heritage of any country as it is a tourist attraction and many people are influenced by local culture through native languages.